Lab's actions

As a multidisciplinary research center, the LGCgE laboratory consists of scientists belonging to different communities who work together to contribute to an exciting intellectual network focused primarily on infrastructure, transportation, city and environment.

As essential vectors to the development of modern society, Materials and the City must allow a constant balance between the need for sustainable infrastructure and environmental health. The missions of the lab’s Actions on Materials and City is to provide a critical link between the different research teams in the laboratory related to housing and materials, in the broad sense, including concerns about energy and environment.

The main goal of these two actions is to increase interactions at the Lab’s scale, engender new ideas and propose solutions for current cutting-edge issues that are critical to society and the environment.

Lab’s Action on City

Responsible :  Emmanuel Antczak

The lab's Action on City is an opportunity to increase internal interactions in the laboratory in order to respond to many challenges related to the City of today and that of tomorrow. One of the priorities concerns environmental health, through the questions of pollution and waste management, in particular in connection with the air quality in closed environments, multiple sources of pollution in these same environments, microorganism development, storage of pollutants, etc.

In this context, the LGCgE research teams offer recognized skills to be able to respond to this challenge, which can be answered on different scales, from the internal structure specific to each infrastructure material where the source of pollutants is found, up to their extraction at the infrastructure scale.


Lab’s Action on Materials

Responsible : Fahmi Zaïri

The members of the laboratory use / enrich / develop theoretical, computational and experimental approaches, separately or hand-in-hand, for the understanding and prediction of the response (involving coupled phenomena and multi-scale features) of any type of materials, natural or not, including the new cohort of advanced infrastructure materials. The lab’s Action on Materials provides an excellent opportunity to promote the transfer of knowledge between the different academic disciplines involved in the LGCgE laboratory that focus on the materials, often from different viewpoints.

Emphasizing collaborations across the LGCgE, along with research projects that provide real-world context, a priority is identifying and applying radically new approaches, at scales from the nano to the global, to address some of the greatest challenges of our time in the area of sustainability, environment or energy.

BQR 2022 winners
Lab’s Action on City
Fadi Abdel Nour, Franck Brachelet and Frédéric Becquart
Project title: Contribution to the development by vapothermal cure of biosourced vegetable blocks based on flax shives: experimental characterizations in creep and identification of hygrothermal properties
Transversal project betweenER2 et l’ER5

Lab’s Action on Materials
Sawsen Chafei and Hassina Kada
Project title: Development of biosourced materials: Study of the influence of flax fiber treatment and matrix modification on the behavior of a cementitious composite
Transversal project betweenER2 et l’ER3

Lauréats BQR 2021
Lab’s Action on City
Oly Vololonirina
Project title: Contribution to the development of an eco-design methodology for building materials in the Hauts-de-France region.
Transversal project betweenER2 et l’ER5

Lab’s Action on Materials
Walid Maherzi
Project title: Design of eco-binders based on industrial by-products: study of formulation, durability and life cycle analysis.
Transversal project betweenER2 et l’ER4.

Actions transversales

En tant que centre de recherche multidisciplinaire, le LGCgE est composé de personnes appartenant à différentes communautés scientifiques qui travaillent ensemble pour constituer un réseau intellectuel passionnant axé principalement sur les infrastructures, les transports, la ville et l’environnement.

En tant que vecteurs essentiels au développement de la société moderne, les Matériaux et la Ville doivent permettre un équilibre constant entre le besoin d’infrastructures durables et la santé environnementale. Les actions Matériaux et Ville ont pour mission de fournir le liant entre les différentes équipes de recherche du laboratoire sur les questions en liens avec l’habitat et les matériaux, au sens large, y compris en lien avec les préoccupations énergétiques et environnementales.

L’objectif principal de ces deux actions est d’accroître les interactions à l’échelle du laboratoire, de générer de nouvelles idées et de proposer des solutions aux problèmes de pointe actuels essentiels pour la société et l’environnement.

 

Action Ville

Responsable :  Emmanuel Antczak

L’action Ville est une opportunité permettant d’accroître les interactions internes au laboratoire afin de répondre à de nombreux défis liés à la Ville d’aujourd’hui et à celle de demain. L’une des priorités concerne la santé environnementale, à travers les questions de pollution et de gestion des déchets, en particulier en lien avec la qualité de l’air dans les milieux clos, des sources de pollutions multiples dans ces mêmes milieux, du développement des micro-organismes, du stockage de polluants, etc.

Dans ce cadre, les équipes de recherche du LGCgE offrent des compétences reconnues pour pouvoir répondre à ce défi, dont les réponses peuvent se faire à différentes échelles, depuis la structure interne propre à chaque matériau de construction où se trouve la source des polluants, jusqu’à leur extraction à l’échelle du bâtiment.

 

Action Matériaux

Responsable : Fahmi Zaïri

Les membres du laboratoire utilisent / enrichissent / développent des approches théoriques, numériques et expérimentales, séparément ou main dans la main, pour la compréhension et la prédiction de la réponse (impliquant des phénomènes couplés et multi-échelles) de tout type de matériaux, naturels ou non, y compris la nouvelle cohorte de matériaux avancés. L’action Matériaux offre une excellente occasion de promouvoir le transfert de connaissances entre les différentes disciplines académiques impliquées dans le laboratoire se concentrant sur les matériaux, souvent sous des angles différents.

A travers les collaborations internes au LGCgE, ainsi que les projets de recherche en contexte réel, une priorité est d’identifier et d’appliquer des approches radicalement nouvelles, à des échelles allant du nano au global, pour relever certains des plus grands défis de notre temps concernant la durabilité, l’environnement ou l’énergie.